State Legislature Completes 2012 Redistricting

As required by law, the Oklahoma legislature completed redrawing boundries for state house, senate and congressional districts before adjourning in May to reflect population changes from the 2010 Census.

These maps are the newly defined districts in PDF format as passed by the legislature:

The Oklahoma Senate has provided maps for all Senate districts statewide on its website. Note that Senator Eddie Fields, District 10, who previously represented northern Payne County no longer represents any part of the county and Senator Halligan now represents all of Payne County.

The Oklahoma House also has also provided maps for all House districts along with some details on the process. Minor adjustments were made in Payne County districts.

There was little change in Oklahoma’s five congressional districts. The Daily Kos provided an interesting breakdown of how the counties voted in the 2008 presidential election.